7 May 2013

What Really Happened in Peru Novella Review


The Bane Chronicles: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan. The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices companion series!

What they say: Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.

This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.


What I say: This is the first in a series of novellas based on The Mortal Instruments & The Infernal Devices warlock, Magnus Bane. It's short, sweet and really funny! Cassie Clare has co-written the The Bane Chronicles series with some of her fellow authors (and friends) - Sarah Rees Brennan has worked on this one with her.

This instalment follows Magnus on various trips around Peru with Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss. It includes heartbreak, spider monkeys, pirates, flying carpets and drinking! So I obviously loved it!

I'm not sure what really happened in Peru but this novella was witty, fun and also sad. Amongst all of the flashy clothes and adventures there are some poignant moments where Magnus ponders the real cost of living forever. Eternity can be lonely!

4 Stars in my Sky!

My fav non-spoilery quotes:
  • "Me with a little monkey friend. I could teach him tricks. I could dress him in a cunning jacket. He could look just like me! But more monkey-shaped."
  • "You told us to leave you in the desert, because you planned to start a new life as a cactus."
  • "Magnus, you were trying to flirt with your own plate." "I'm a very open-minded sort of fellow!"
  • Magnus refused to wallow. Wallowing was for elephants, depressing people, and depressing elephants.

{Linkwithin}

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...