19 August 2016

The Flame Never Dies - Tour & Review


The Flame Never Dies
by Rachel Vincent

What they say: For fans of Cassandra Clare and Richelle Mead comes the unputdownable sequel to The Stars Never Rise, a book Rachel Caine, author of the bestselling Morganville Vampires series, called “haunting, unsettling, and eerily beautiful.” 

ONE SPARK WILL RISE. Nina Kane was born to be an exorcist. And since uncovering the horrifying truth—that the war against demons is far from over—seventeen-year-old Nina and her pregnant younger sister, Mellie, have been on the run, incinerating the remains of the demon horde as they go. 

In the badlands, Nina, Mellie, and Finn, the fugitive and rogue exorcist who saved her life, find allies in a group of freedom fighters. They also face a new threat: Pandemonia, a city full of demons. But this fresh new hell is the least of Nina’s worries. The well of souls ran dry more than a century ago, drained by the demons secretly living among humans, and without a donor soul, Mellie’s child will die within hours of its birth.

Nina isn’t about to let that happen... even if it means she has to make the ultimate sacrifice.

Add to Goodreads

Buy The Flame Never Dies:

I was offered a review copy but had already purchased an ARC at YALC this year!

What I say: I loved The Stars Never Rise (review here) but was slightly concerned that The Flame Never Dies may not live up to my high expectations but I loved it just as much. 

The story again focuses on Nina as she faces a two pronged attack from both the Church and the horrifying Demons who are far more widespread than ever. 

What I particularly enjoyed was the character development and not just with Nina. Nina is constantly evolving. She's moved on so much from the law abiding, rule following (mostly) good girl we first met and is becoming a warrior *ahem* exorcist!  Don't worry she's not all Xena Warrior Princes because is still the same slightly reserved girl - as demonstrated by her embarrassment at PDAs. I loved her! Oh Finn! I was pleasantly surprised about his story and we get a lot of answers about his situation and bond with Maddy (no spoilers here).

In a genre often full of repetition and cliches I can honestly say I really didn't see a lot of the events coming. I never found myself questioning their actions as so often happens in YA stories. I can't really go into more detail because it's too spoilery - I wouldn't want to spoil any of the drama and action for you.

The romance is honest and never feels forced. Rachel Vincent does a fantastic job portraying the beauty and drama of first love. We see jealousy, self doubt, devotion and kissing as well as flirty banter and arguments.

I'm honestly not entirely sure if the series is done after the duo-logy because I'd love more story. BUT I appreciated the ending and of course the build-up to THAT conclusion.

4.5 Stars in my Sky!

Book one:

Sixteen-year-old Nina Kane should be worrying about her immortal soul, but she's too busy trying to actually survive. Her town's population has been decimated by soul-consuming demons, and souls are in short supply. Watching over her younger sister, Mellie, and scraping together food and money are all that matters. The two of them are a family. They gave up on their deadbeat mom a long time ago.

When Nina discovers that Mellie is keeping a secret that threatens their very existence, she'll do anything to protect her. Because in New Temperance, sins are prosecuted as crimes by the brutal Church and its army of black-robed exorcists. And Mellie's sin has put her in serious trouble.

To keep them both alive, Nina will need to trust Finn, a fugitive with deep green eyes who has already saved her life once and who might just be an exorcist. But what kind of exorcist wears a hoodie?

Wanted by the Church and hunted by dark forces, Nina knows she can't survive on her own. She needs Finn and his group of rogue friends just as much as they need her. 

Buy links:

Author Spotlight:

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent loves good chocolate, comfortable jeans, and serial commas. Rachel is the author of the SOUL SCREAMERS series and can be found online: 



No comments

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Blogger Template Created by pipdig