8 November 2014

Red Queen ARC Review

Red Queen #1
by Victoria Aveyard





Add to Goodreads

Coming Feb 12th 2015

What they say: A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES.


This is a world divided by blood - red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare's potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance - Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart...




Pre-order:

Amazon UK * Amazon US


I received a copy from the publisher (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review!


What I say: In Red Queen Victoria Aveyard has provided an interest take on the fantasy dystopia by combining advanced technology with an almost medieval fantasy world (still with me?). Imagine a YA version Game of Thrones but with modern technology and then mix it with X-Men, The Selection & Throne of Glass.

I'm not a spoiler kinda gal so I won't be giving away the plot but it is worth noting Red Queen is the first book in a new series and does end on a cliffy. 


Mare lives in a dystopian world at war, where everybody is judged on the colour of their blood (yes BLOOD) - it puts an interest twist on racism. Red means common and servant, Silver means special and upper class. Mare is Red, her entire family is Red and her life of poverty and servitude looks settled until it isn't...Mare finds herself at the Silver palace and suddenly everything changes.


There are many themes running throughout the book including racism, poverty, equality, war, betrayal and er speed dating...! I've seen a few reviewers comment on the love triangle and a lack of chemistry between the characters but I never really saw what happens as a triangle. To me Red Queen was more about world building and introducing the characters. I also felt Mare and certain characters had a lot of chemistry, but because of their circumstances it was a bit of a slow burn. Who really likes insta-love anyway? The main point is the reader is never really sure about whether Mare likes a certain guy or not, because she's not really sure herself - I liked that she had her doubts. This is, after all, a story about betrayal. The book is about so much more than teen romance. 

As the events begin to unfold, the pace really increases and a LOT happens. It's a bit of a slow build up in parts but I appreciated how we were given the chance to get to know this strange society. I liked 'The Selection' style moments and I kept changing my mind about Cal, Mavern and Kilorn.

The twists and turns kept coming - the End!! There were a few times when I though Aveyard was going to go all George R.R. Martin on us and kill them all, but it is the first book in a series so obviously she wasn't going to kill everybody. I really enjoyed Red Queen and enjoyed the similarities between it and over mixed genre stories. Roll on book two!

4 Stars in my Sky!




{Linkwithin}

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...